Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve wrestled for a while about how to write this post because it’s difficult to put words to the source of your inspiration. I’m not usually inspired to write. It doesn’t come easily for me. I’m inspired to go and to do, but rarely to write.

I have to force my students to write; telling them their grade hangs in the balance. There is even one boy who cries literally every time that I pass out a new writing prompt. That’s sort of how this feels for me, but I write, in large part, because of my students. I tell them that they have to practice their writing, and I regularly (don’t tell them that it’s not really so regular) practice, too.

So, I gave my writing practice place a title that is inspirational to me. The name Flowers Better Dressed comes from artist Jon Foreman’s song, “Your Love is Strong.” The lyrics are derived from Matthew 6, beginning with the The Lord’s Prayer, then followed by a command not to be anxious. I drew my inspiration from the lines:

I look at the meadow
And stare at the flowers
Better dressed than any girl
On her wedding day

It reminds me that, no matter what I have (or don’t have), I am clothed in the Lord’s righteousness. He has given me all that I need and if He has given so much care for the flowers, how much more will He care for me?

It’s hard to remember that promise day in and day out, but I pray for constant reminders of it. I seek it in community, in my sewing, in my reading, in my classroom. I know I will find it because He has proven Himself faithful time and time again. I choose to clothe myself in His love, which is all around us.

