I started listening to the band Switchfoot when I was in middle school, and I pretty much haven’t stopped since. I can tie many significant memories to specific lyrics or concerts that I’ve attended. I was pulled over for the first time while listening to “Life and Love and Why” from the Legend of Chin. It was for reckless driving. The cop chewed me out, told me I was an idiot, and then left without giving me so much as a warning. I shook his hand.

After a concert in Atlanta, my sister and dear friend Erin came across Miss Virginia and her overheated car. We drove her to her house, which was the biggest thing I’ve ever seen in my life, because “woah! They’re loaded!!” Switchfoot just conjures up all of these fantastic memories for me. I like Switchfoot.

Another thing I like is Wordle. It’s a website that creates word clouds from any text you input. The words you use the most are the most prominent in the cloud. I think it’s useful for my students because they can input essays they’ve written and see if there is a word they use too frequently. You can also choose different color schemes and fonts!

So, to tie these two favorite things together…

I entered all of Switchfoot’s lyrics into Wordle and made this beautiful little creation. You can see it better if you click on it. I’m not sure how to make this bigger. Can someone help me?

Wordle: Switchfoot Lyrics

I think I’m going to have it printed and framed to hang in my living room. I like it.

Have you made any Wordle creations?

