I’ve shared some about my travels to Haiti with you in the post “They Call Me Number 12.” It’s a place that I am passionate about helping, but also a place that deeply frustrates me, as well as overwhelms me because of all the work there is to be done. I am thankful to be afforded the opportunity to channel these mix of emotions while serving on the board of directors for a grassroots nonprofit organization called The Delmas Project.

Delmas is a commune in Port-au-Price, Haiti. It was one of the hardest hit areas during the earthquake last year, and they are still feeling the effects.

My good friend Evan is the driving force behind this operation. He recently started a blog where he posts updates in regards to the organization, and I would recommend that you subscribe to it. Here’s the link for your convenience: http://thedelmasproject.wordpress.com/

Evs (as I like to call him) recently listed some updates and goals he has in mind for the upcoming month, which I am very excited about! The Discovery Channel is doing a series on small nonprofits and they’ve chosen to feature The Delmas Project in Haiti. I’m excited to see the final product of this video!

Also, in line for this month, is a group of students from Troy University. There were more students expected to participate, and since several are unable to go now there is a monetary issue that has put us in a difficult situation, both financially and relationally with the people. (This is what I mean by frustrations. Haitians aren’t always very understanding…and it’s hard to argue since we are such a wealthy country.) There is more information about the situation on Evs’ blog, plus he’s able to explain it in more detail.

If you would like to help Evan out while he’s on this trip, it would be greatly appreciated! Prayer is our first priority because the task ahead is more than any individual can handle. The power of the Lord is the only way for this project to be a success, and I truly believe that is what he has in mind for these people. Also, financial support would be greatly appreciated. Checks can be made out to The Delmas Project, and you can contact me for information on where to send it. Thank you so much for your support. We are confident that God’s strong hand is on us and, at the right time he will lift up this organization and these people in honor.

