I’m packing. I hate packing. It goes on my “Top Ten Things I Hate To Do” list. Right up there with painting. Ick! Thankfully, there aren’t many things that I need to get before I stuff it all in the ol’ pack. The list is long, but somehow, it manages to fit into my hiking backpack. I love my pack. It makes me feel rugged and tough. I’m so tough. You believe that. Don’t you?

from Flickr.

So, here’s my list. Thankfully, I have most everything because of my trip last year. There are only a couple of items I need some help on…

  • T Shirts (7) – I have a few, but there are these really sweet ones I found from (don’t judge) Wal*Mart last year. They’re Danskin and I like them because they wick away the sweat! Definitely needed in Haiti.
  • Longish skirts (7) – I have some amazing friends helping me with this!
  • Long Sleeves/ Hoodie (1) (not sure I’ll actually use this)
  • Lightweight Jacket (rain)(1) (it’s supposed to rain while we’re there! That’s good because it will be cooler. Right?)
  • Pants (2 jeans, 1 work pants)
  • Shoes (1 pair tennis shoes, 1 sandals)
  • Hat
  • Underwear (7)
  • Socks (8)
  • Shower Sandals
  • Work Gloves
  • All those unspoken girl products…. ☺ double check!
  • Passport
  • Travel itinerary – partially done through email. There are just a couple more questions I have about this that I’ll probably find out when we get to West Palm for our training.
  • Toothbrush and toothpaste (travel size) – mom promised to have this!
  • Soap and shampoo Always well stocked, thanks for my sweet aunt.
  • Necessary meds
  • Wet wipes
  • travel toilet paper
  • Bug spray
  • Deodorant
  • Hand sanitizer (one travel size only)
  • Shaving stuff – I’m in Haiti. This probably won’t be happening. Sorry team!
  • Sunscreen
  • Snack foods – Clif Bars are my BFF. Where can I find these for cheap? They’re $5.47 at Publix.
  • Propel or Gatorade singles
  • Towel (small quick dry towel if you have one- good for work days)
  • Bible, Pen, Notebook
  • Nalgene Bottle with my handy-dandy splash guard!
  • Glasses
  • Small flashlight Strongest little light you ever did see.
  • Camera
  • washcloth
  • 2 twin size flat sheets – mom??
  • Ear plugs – there are dogs around the compound that bark, so if you’re a light sleeper grab a pair of these! I’m not a light sleeper, but I could have used these last year!
  • Small battery operated fan – I somehow survived without this last year. You’re welcome, America.
  • Mosquito net
  • Bathing suit for the beach
  • deflated soccer balls (&pump), coloring books, uno, ect. – I’ll have to check out the toy closet…

I ask my mom this before I ever leave the house: anything you can think of that I might be forgetting??

Above all, and most importantly, I pray my heart is ready. It’s not something you can just pack up, all set to go. Obviously. Wouldn’t that be convenient though? I’ve had a lot of people praying for me, which is so comforting. My dad told me this morning that the men at First Baptist Daytona prayed for me at their prayer breakfast this morning. I am surrounded by a wonderful and encouraging community.

For whatever reason, I haven’t been feeling well the past two weeks. I had some tests done on Saturday, but of course, it wasn’t soon enough to receive the results before I leave on Thursday for my trip. Despite the outcome of the results, whether they can figure out what is wrong, or not, I am off. Please pray that I will feel alright while I am gone and that being in Haiti will not worsen the symptoms I am seeing. My doctor seems to think I should be okay enough to travel. No worries. I’m ready. Let’s go.

Thanks for your prayers! I can’t wait to tell you about my trip when I get back. See you on the 17th!

