Day 4

13JUN2011

This has been my favorite day so far. A group of women are here for the summer to run a reading program for the kids. They were so kind to let me help them assess the students to see what they need to work on once they begin. I was so excited to help them! It’s perfect because you have the opportunity to work one-on-one with the kids, plus I feel I’m able to use my gift of teaching. What a blessing!

Many of the students we saw today are working at a third grade level, although they are in sixth, seventh and eighth grade. We talked about some different ideas for lessons they might be able to do once the reading programs starts. I wish that I could be there to teach the students. Am I ready for school to begin?

I met up with the team that afternoon, and spent the rest of the day working very hard. There is a semi-truck trailer that is full of donations for the orphans.

There were lots of clothes that we organized and sent to the dorms, baby items that we hauled up the nursery, and more cans of green beans than you could ever imagine consuming! We accomplished quite a bit, but there is a long way to go. We’ll sleep well tonight!


